Refuse Transfer Stations

There are 16 refuse/recycling transfer stations in the Far North run by Council, and 13 community recycling centres (one of which is seasonal). Find a link to information about these under Related Information. Most recyclables are accepted at no cost at Council facilities.

Opening hours and locations

You can download information about operating hours(PDF, 53KB) for refuse transfer stations and community recycling centres. 

Class 1 Address Days Opens Closes
Kaitaia 500 metres up Church Road. Turn off opposite primary school Mon-Fri 7.30am 5pm
Sat, Sun 9am 5pm
Kaitaia (Second-hand shop) Shop is onsite at Kaitaia RTS Tues-Thurs 9am 4pm
Taipa On the corner of Paranui Road and Oruru Road (3km south of Taipa) Mon-Fri 7.30am 5pm
Sat, Sun 9am 5pm
Kaikohe Station Rd, Kaikohe Mon-Fri 7.30am 5pm
Sat, Sun 9am 5pm
Whangae 3km south of Opua on SH11 Mon-Fri 7.30am 5pm
Sat, Sun 9am 5pm
Whitehills 500m south of the Matauri Bay turn-off SH10 Mon-Fri 7.30am 5pm
Sat, Sun 9am 5pm
Waipapa 1913 State Highway 10, at the end of the lane Mon-Fri 7.30am 5pm
Sat, Sun 9am 5pm
Class 2* Address Days Opens Closes
Ahipara 2km up Sandhills Road (beside Ahipara Landfill) Mon, Weds, Fri 7:30am 1pm
Sat, Sun 9am 1pm
Houhora SH1 1km north of Pukenui Mon, Weds, Fri 7.30am 1pm
Sat, Sun 9am 1pm
Whatuwhiwhi 1km south of Whatuwhiwhi off Inland Road Mon, Weds, Fri 7:30am 1pm
Sat, Sun 9am 1pm
Opononi Rawene Baker Road - behind bowling club midway
between Opononi and Omapere
Mon, Weds, Fri 7:30am 1pm
Sat, Sun 9am 1pm
Russell On Florance Ave approx 2km southeast of Russell Mon, Weds, Fri 7:30am 1pm
Sat, Sun 9am 1pm
All class 2 sites have additional hours during summer season from 20 Dec to 13 Feb Tues, Thurs 7.30am 1pm
All class 2 sites open till 3pm on Easter Monday. Whatuwhiwhi and Russell only are open 9.00-5.00pm Sat/Sun in January
Class 3a Address Days Opens Closes
Awanui SH1; 300m north of Awanui
(beside Rugby Club)
Tues 7:30am 12pm
Sat 9am-12pm 12.30pm
Sun 4pm
Herekino 2km north of Herekino on Kaitaia-Awaroa Road Tues 7.30am 12.30pm
Thurs, Sun 1pm 4.30pm
Kohukohu Kohukohu Rd 1.5 km South of Kohukohu Tue 7.30am 10am
Thurs 7.30am 2pm
Sun 12pm 3pm
Panguru 1km south of Panguru on West Coast Road Mon, Weds 7.30am 12pm
Sat 9am 12pm
Class 3b Address Days Opens Closes
Te Kao Off SH1 (North); East Coast Roadway (behind Marae) Te Kao Tues 7:30am 12pm
Sat 9am 12pm
Community Recycling Centres Address Days Opens Closes
Whangaroa By Big Game Fishing Club Daily 8am 5pm, daylight saving 8pm
Totara North Totara North Road 500m from SH10 Daily 9am 4.30pm
Rawhiti 18 Dec - 28 Feb
1 Mar - 17 Dec
Kaingahoa Camp Ground, Kaingahoa Bay Daily
Sun, Wed, Fri
7am 6pm,
Broadwood 1135 Broadwood Rd Daily 9am 5pm
Panguru Tautoro Road behind Hokianga Health Enterprise Daily 9am 5pm
Pawarenga At the Pawarenga Community Trust, Rotokakahi War Memorial Domain Mon - Thurs 8.30am 4.30pm
Fri 9.30am 12.30pm
Horeke On Rangiahua Rd. 3.9km from SH 1 Tues, Thurs 8.00am 4pm
Sat, Sun 9.00am 3pm
Okaihau 2kms down Waiare Road Tues/thurs 8.00am 4pm
Sat, Sun 9.00am 3pm
Maromaku 100m east of Maromaku School entry Daily 9am 5pm
Rawene Clendon Esplanade 300m past school Daily 9am 5pm
Moerewa SH1 corner of Leaity St Mon-Sat 8am 5pm
Seasonal Service
Opua 26 Dec – 29 Jan By fuel jetty FNHL car park Daily 7am 6pm
All sites closed Christmas Day, New Year's Day, Good Friday, Easter Sunday. Anzac day all sites closed until 1pm


Refuse Transfer Stations are closed on:

Christmas Day

New Year's Day

Good Friday

Easter Sunday

Anzac Day (closed morning only - open from 1.00pm)

Holiday season refuse and recycling

Additional recycling centres are set up in selected areas of the Bay of Islands over the summer holiday season. These accept recycling at no charge. Prepaid Waste Management rubbish bags can also be left here. The on-going provision of these services depends on users respecting the facilities by ensuring they use the pre-paid bags for rubbish. Refer to the transfer station information sheet for opening hours, dates and locations.

Accepted waste

Transfer stations accept general household and commercial waste. Some sites accept bagged rubbish only, larger sites accept both bagged and bulk rubbish; see transfer station information sheet for details. Customers are expected to unload their own rubbish into the bins provided as well as sort their recycling appropriately.

Prohibited waste

  • Infectious medical wastes
  • Dust prone materials
  • Liquids, chemicals and sludges
  • Dead animals
  • Asbestos
  • Fuel tanks (empty or otherwise)
  • Hazardous waste (other than minor household hazardous wastes)
  • Explosive and radioactive material
  • Commercial air-conditioning or refrigeration units

Household hazardous waste

Household hazardous waste (up to 5 litres) is accepted at many transfer stations. Used lubricating oil, paints, agricultural chemicals, animal remedies, pool chemicals and batteries (automotive and household) are all classed as hazardous waste as they are hazardous to the environment. Refer to the refuse Transfer station information sheet for details. For quantities more than 5 litres and commercial, contact the Northland Regional Council.


What are the fees for using the transfer stations for dumping rubbish?

  • Per bag (standard 65L) $3.00
  • Oversized Bag (130L) $6.00
  • Wheelie Bin (240L) $11.00
  • Loose Material per m3 $46.00
  • Compacted and heavy material per m3 $74.50
  • Green waste m3 $22.00

Refer also to our Fees and Charges(PDF, 267KB).

Last updated 26 July 2021