Current structure

Current structure_sq.jpg

Far North District Council currently has three wards and three Community Boards. Members of Community Boards represent subdivisions within each ward. This structure has been in place since 2010. The Council has nine councillors and 19 Community Board members. 

Far North residents elect councillors to make decisions on their behalf. With their mandate from electors, councillors must make decisions based on what is the best for the district as a whole. Councillors should be transparent, accountable and must work together to make decisions. Community Boards are closely connected to their respective communities. Members are elected according to subdivisions and their role is to represent and advocate for the interests of their community.

What the law says

The Local Electoral Act sets out the minimum and maximum size for a council. The minimum size is six councillors; the maximum possible is 29.