Kerikeri by-election nominations open Monday

Published on 19 November 2019

Local elections postal vote CL 2016.jpg

Nominations to fill a vacancy on the Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board (Kerikeri Subdivision) open for a month from Monday 25 November.

Councillor Rachel Smith was elected to both the Far North District Council and the Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board in the local body elections on 12 October, and under section 88A of the Local Electoral Act 2001 she automatically takes the Council position. A by-election must now be held to fill the community board vacancy.

To be eligible to stand for the community board, candidates must be a New Zealand citizen and be a parliamentary elector anywhere in New Zealand. Candidates must also be nominated by two people who are registered on the electoral roll within the Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board (Kerikeri Subdivision) area.

The nomination period closes at noon on Monday 23 December 2019.

Nomination papers can be obtained from Council’s Kerikeri Service Centre; the electoral office (Election Services, Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland); downloaded from the FNDC website (; or by phoning 0800 922 822 to request papers be sent by post.

If there is more than one nomination for the position, a by-election will be held and postal voting packs will be delivered to eligible electors within the Kerikeri Subdivision from Monday 27 January 2020. The three-week voting period will close at noon on Tuesday 18 February 2020.

Further information about the by-election can be found on the Elections page