New recycling centre for Waitangi

Published on 10 November 2021


Recycling glass, plastic and other waste will now be much easier at one of the district’s busiest tourist destinations, thanks to an agreement between the Council and Te Tii (Waitangi) B3 Trust.

The new Community Recycling Centre was officially opened to the public at Tahuna Road in Waitangi on Tuesday.

Te Tii (Waitangi) B3 Trust operates its own recycling facility at the site but is now opening it up to the public three days a week following an agreement with Far North District Council. The Community Recycling Centre will accept clean, separated recyclables free of charge between 8am and 1pm on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. The facility will be operated under contract by Waste Management.

Mayor John Carter says the new Community Recycling Centre will be an important addition to waste services offered in the Waitangi and Paihia area.

“Until now the nearest recycling facility has been at Whangae Refuse Transfer Station, ten kilometres away. The new community recycling centre will make it much easier for the many visitors to Waitangi to dispose of their recycling correctly. It will also make it easier for Haruru, Waitangi and Paihia residents to recycle waste and reduce rubbish going to landfill.”

The Waitangi Treaty Grounds hosts more than 130,000 visitors a year, including nearly 10,000 school students on organised class trips. Nearby Paihia is also a popular summer destination during Christmas-New Year period. The annual influx of visitors over summer puts significant pressure on infrastructure, especially waste disposal.

Te Tii Waitangi B3 Trust Operations Manager, Whati Rameka, says the new facility will make it easier for visitors to recycle, reduce litter and help to ensure Waitangi maintains its reputation as a premier cultural and tourism destination. “We take great pride in the beautification of our whenua at Waitangi,” he says.

Mayor Carter says the project would not have been possible without support from the Trust. “I want to thank Te Tii Trust on behalf of the Council and local residents for making this site available and supporting this project.”

As part of its commitment to minimising solid waste and protecting the environment, the Council operates 16 Refuse Transfer Stations in the Far North, 11 permanent Community Recycling Centres and three seasonal Community Recycling Centres. Most recyclables are accepted at Council facilities free of charge.

Go to the Council’s website for further information on the location of transfer and recycling stations and items that can be recycled.