Candidate information

Please note - nominations can only be lodged and paid for at the following service centres:

  • Kerikeri – John Butler Centre, 60 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri
  • Kaikohe  - 5 Memorial Avenue, Kaikohe
  • Kaitāia - Te Ahu, Corner Matthews Avenue and South Road, Kaitāia.

Notice of election, nomination of candidates and closing date for nomination

Nomination forms


General wards
Māori ward
Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Boards
Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Boards
Te Hiku Community Boards

Nominations received


John Vujcich; Kelly Stratford; Ann Court, Moko Tepania, Jaqi Brown, Joshua Riley

General wards
  • Bay of Islands-Whangaroa General Ward - Kelly Stratford; Ann Court, Belinda Ward, Garth Holder, Pierre Fernandes, Robert Eady, Rachel Smith, Annette Main
  • Kaikohe-Hokianga General Ward - John Vujcich, Zealandia Angel
  • Te Hiku General Ward - Darren Carl Axe, Felicity Foy, Adele Gardner, Dave Collard, Joshua Riley, Paul McLaren
Māori ward
  • Ngā Tai o Tokerau Māori Ward - Moko Tepania, Nyze Manuel, Diane Rodgers
Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Boards
  • Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board (Kawakawa-Moerewa Subdivision)
  • Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board (Kerikeri Subdivision)
  • Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board (Paihia Subdivision) - Belinda Ward
  • Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board (Russell-Ōpua Subdivision) - Jane Hindle
  • Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board (Waipapa Subdivision)
  • Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board (Whangaroa Subdivision) - Bruce Mills
Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Boards
  • Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board (Kaikohe Subdivision) - Trinity Edwards, Shaun Reilly
  • Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board (North Hokianga Subdivision)
  • Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board (South Hokianga Subdivision) - Alan Philip Hessell
Te Hiku Community Boards
  • Te Hiku Community Board (Doubtless Bay Subdivision)
  • Te Hiku Community Board (Kaitāia Subdivision) - Adele Gardner
  • Te Hiku Community Board (North Cape Subdivision) - Darren Carl Axe
  • Te Hiku Community Board (Whatuwhiwhi Subdivision)


Candidate Evenings

Candidate evening - Bay of Islands-Whangaroa
Tuesday 2 August 2022, 5pm
Hosted by Far North District Council
Te Hononga, Kawakawa

Candidate evening - Kaikohe-Hokianga
Wednesday 3 August 2022, 5pm
Hosted by the Far North District Council and Northland Regional Council
Te Kona - Digital, Business and Learning Hub
74 Guy Road, Kaikohe

Candidate evening - Te Hiku
Thursday 4 August 2022, 5pm
Hosted by the Far North District Council and Northland Regional Council
Banquet Room, Te Ahu, Corner Matthews Avenue and South Road, Kaitāia

The candidate information briefings and online hui provide an opportunity for those members of the public who are considering standing for office to find out about:

  • the responsibilities of the district council (FNDC) and the regional council (NRC) 
  • the skills required, the role and responsibilities of elected representatives 
  • matters pertaining to the elections (eligibility, nominations, timetable, induction process and remuneration).

Registration to attend is not required for in-person sessions. 

Q&A Panel

Wednesday 20 July, 5.30pm to 7.30pm
Watch it on our YouTube channel

Check out our Q&A panel

Mariameno Kapa Kingi - Chief Executive Officer, Te Rūnanga Nui o Te Aupōuri


Mariameno is of Te Aupōuri and Ngāti Kahu ki Whaingaroa descent. Her parents Paratene Kapa and Nan Te Auraki Heke moved their whānau of ten children from Te Kao to Whangārei where she attended school and started her first job.

For over 30 years Mariameno has focused on whānau Māori health, wealth, and wellbeing while working in the health, justice and social sectors. She believes Māori models of wellbeing are vital to enabling Māori to survive and flourish. Mariameno gained a Bachelor of Social Science degree while working and attributes her strength of character to knowing where she comes from and to whom she belongs.

As CEO of Te Rūnanga Nui o Te Aupōuri, she is committed to Te Aupōuri, for Te Aupōuri, as Te Aupōuri wherever they may choose to live. Recently she was part of the collective iwi response to COVID-19, in the Far North. This inspired her to run as a Māori Party candidate for Te Tai Tokerau in the 2020 General Election.

Her vision for the future includes seeing He Whakaputanga, the Declaration of the Independence of New Zealand, and Te Tiriti o Waitangi fully realised.

Jude Thompson - Strategic Programmes Portfolio Manager, Northland Inc.


Jude is responsible for managing a portfolio of strategic programmes at Northland Inc. These include the Tai Tokerau Northland Economic Action Plan which encompasses multiple projects contributing to the transformation of Northland’s economy and Te Ōhanga Rautaki Whānui o Te Tai Tokerau – the region’s economic development strategy.

Jude reports on progress, performance and risk at all programme levels to both advisory and working groups, and supports project managers to achieve milestones and complete actions. She has experience in both public and private sectors and has worked extensively with regional stakeholders, Māori, local and central government.

Craig Taylor - Business Manager, Election Services


During his time with Election Services, Craig has assisted in the management of local government elections (2016) and many other large corporate and private entity elections. He has a strong background in business practice, business management, the relevant legislation and its practical application. Craig has a sound knowledge of the overall election process, including valuable insight into the operational aspects of the organisation.

Caroline Wilson - Manager, District Administration


As well as being responsible for the elections and representation arrangements for the Far North District Council, Caroline manages the Democracy Services Team. This team works closely with our elected members and staff providing procedural and legislative advice, managing the political meetings of Council and community boards, guiding staff on engaging with the decision-makers through reports and workshops, and providing administrative support to the elected members.  

Nicolas Powell - FNDC, Youth Council


Nicolas Powell is a member of the Far North Youth Council and in Year 13 at Kerikeri High School. He has a wide range of interests including playing for the school football and cricket teams, as well as participating in debating and auctioneering. Nicolas plans to head to the University of Auckland, Waipapa Taumata Rau, for his undergraduate studies where he hopes to specialise in international law and then eventually travel to pursue a career in diplomacy.

Colin (Toss) Kitchen - Northland Regional Council 

 Colin Kitchen.jpg

Colin (Toss) Kitchen has dedicated his life to public service and has extensive experience in local government. He has served as a community board member, a councillor with Far North District Council, and is currently a councillor with Northland Regional Council. He is well known in Te Hiku having volunteered for 54 years with Kaitaia Volunteer Fire Brigade (still serving) and was Kaitaia Chief Fire Officer for 10 years. He also served for 10 years Chair of the Northland Civil Defence Emergency Management Group.   




Last updated 09 August 2022