Ngā pārongo hou



Latest council news

Whiringa-ā-rangi November 2022 | Putanga Issue 7

Pōwhiri ushers in 'new dawn' for council



The new Far North District Council as of October 2022. It includes the newly elected mayor, councillors and community board members.

A pōwhiri on Wednesday 19 October at Waitangi Treaty Grounds officially welcomed the new mayor, 10 councillors and 19 community board members elected to Far North District Council.

Speakers included Māori leaders from across the Far North who told a crowd of around 400 people they were witnessing history. Moko Tepania is the first Māori mayor of the Far North, and the youngest mayor ever elected in Northland. It is also the first time that Ngā Tai o Tokerau Māori Ward councillors have been elected to council. The four councillors – Hilda Halkyard-Harawira, Tāmati Rākena, Penetaui Kleskovic and Babe Kapa – will represent the whole district. The Far North population is over 50 per cent Māori and it is the first time that a Māori majority has been elected to Far North District Council.

The crowd of well-wishers were told that the election had ushered in a 'new dawn' for the district that will unite Pākehā and Māori for the benefit of all. Speakers also urged those at the gathering to encourage communities to support their councillors.



Moko Tepania's win as Far North Mayor made local election history.



Elected members and supporters are called onto Te Whare Rūnanga.

New council confirmed

Final results for the Far North District local election were recieved late Friday 14 October following a manual count of hundreds of special votes. The final tally confirmed the new mayor and council line-up. They are:

Ngā Tai o Tokerau Ward:

Hilda Halkyard-Harawira, Tāmati Rākena, Penetaui Kleskovic, Babe Kapa.

Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Ward:

Ann Court, Kelly Stratford, Steve McNally.

Kaikohe-Hokianga Ward:

John Vujcich.

Te Hiku Ward:

Felicity Foy, Mate Radich.

The new council is due to hold its first public meeting at 10am, Thursday 27 October in chambers at the council's Kaikohe headquarters. That meeting will appoint councillor representatives to community boards, set a meeting timetable for the remainder of the year and officially appoint the Deputy Mayor.



Mayor Moko Tepania is joined by his niece Bryla during a waiata.

Community boards meet

The council's three community boards held their inaugural meetings on 20 October with each electing a chairperson and deputy chairperson.

The confirmed community board line up for the next triennium is:

Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board:

Belinda Ward (Chairperson), Lane Ayr (Deputy Chairperson), Roddy Hapati Pihema, Amy Slack, Jane Hindle, Tyler Bamber, Bruce Mills.

Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board:

Chicky Rudkin (Chairperson), Tanya Filia, (Deputy Chairperson), Mike Edmonds, Trinity Edwards, Harmonie Gundry, Jessie McVeagh.

Te Hiku Community Board:

Adele Gardner (Chairperson), John Stewart (Deputy Chairperson), Rachel Leigh Baucke, Sheryl Bainbridge, Darren Carl Axe, William Joseph



Kerikeri Street Party is back for 2022

On 19 November from 5pm to 9.30pm the popular Kerikeri Street Party takes place following the Kerikeri Half Marathon. The event has again been made possible thanks to support of local business sponsors, as well as the Northland Inc Regional Event Fund, and \$10,0000 contributed by Far North District Council Events Investment Fund.