x__32__fill__social media twitter voice record__64__outline__user profile avatar contact person volume sound users member human speaker record voice recorder speach speak apartment__64__fill__building home house hotel apartment property flat residence

Changes proposed to how Far North residents are represented

Should two councillors have voting rights on community boards? Should the name of the Whatuwhiwhi subdivision of the Te Hiku Community Board be changed? Tell Far North District Council what you think by making a submission to Te Arotake Whakaahuatanga Tangata 2024 / the Representation Review 2024.

The aim of the review is to ensure that Far North communities are fairly and effectively represented by members elected to Far North District Council. Earlier this year, the council gathered feedback from residents regarding the current representation arrangements. Based on that feedback, we’ve developed an initial proposal to alter our governance structure. The initial proposal leaves the current arrangements largely intact but with the two following changes:

Increased Representation on Community Boards: Currently, each community board – Bay of Islands-Whangaroa, Kaikohe-Hokianga, and Te Hiku – has one councillor with voting rights. The proposed arrangements include two councillors appointed to each community board to provide fairer and more effective representation. This would comprise:

  • Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board: One councillor representing the Bay of Islands- Whangaroa General Ward, and one councillor representing the Ngā Tai o Tokerau Māori Ward (with voting rights).
  • Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board: Two councillors representing either the Kaikohe-Hokianga General Ward or the Ngā Tai o Tokerau Māori ward (with voting rights).
  • Te Hiku Community Board: Two councillors representing either the Te Hiku General Ward or the Ngā Tai o Tokerau Māori Ward (with voting rights).

Name Change for Whatuwhiwhi Subdivision: Due to a boundary change following the 2021 Representation Review that saw the Awanui township incorporated into the Whatuwhiwhi subdivision, it is proposed to rename the Whatuwhiwhi Subdivision of the Te Hiku Community Board to the Karikari-Awanui Subdivision.

Detailed information on the initial proposal is available in the Public Notice and on FNDCs Have Your Say webpage, where feedback can be shared via an online submission form.

Submissions can also be provided via email, in person at any FNDC service centre or library (where submission forms can be printed on request), or by mail. Alternatively, you can request to share your feedback verbally by emailing submissions@fndc.govt.nz.

Pop-up events will also be scheduled to allow for in-person discussions on the initial proposal.

The submission period runs for a month, with final submissions to be received by 4 pm on Monday 17 June. Verbal submissions are scheduled for Tuesday 9 and Wednesday 10 July 2024.

After the submission period closes, all feedback will be analysed, and the proposal will be finalised for consideration by elected members. A decision on whether to adopt or amend the proposed arrangements is scheduled for August 2024. The adopted representation arrangements will be used for the next local body elections in 2025 and stay in effect until the next review.