Ahipara Refuse Transfer Station

Ahipara RTS.png

Class 2 site

Disposal fees

Free to recycle

It is free to recycle the following at Council refuse transfer stations and community recycling centres.

  • Aluminium/tin cans.

Please rinse cans. No foil food containers.

  • Plastics numbered 1.

Clear and coloured bottles, clean clear meat trays. Please note, these must have the number 1 recycling symbol.

  • Plastics numbered 2.

Milk and cream bottles (including Anchor products), opaque, non-coloured cleaning product containers and coloured plastics, such as cleaning product and cosmetic containers. Please note these must have the number 2 recycling symbol. 

  • Plastics numbered 5.

Examples include some grocery packaging. 

Note: The number identifying the plastic is normally found on the bottom of the bottle or container. All other plastics not listed above should be included in household rubbish. 
  • Cardboard and paper.

Please flatten cardboard, no Tetra Pak food or drink containers, and no plastic-coated or wax-coated cardboard.

  • Glass bottles and jars.

Please separate colours: brown, green and clear. 

Note: Window, frosted, crystal or reinforced glass cannot be accepted.
  • Waste oil. 
  • Whiteware and scrap metal.
Note: Whiteware and scrap metal are accepted at Site class 1 and 2 refuse transfer stations and landfill facilities only.  
  • Wet cell and dry cell batteries.

Fees and costs. 

General waste

  • Per bag (standard 65L) $3.00
  • Oversized bag (130L) $6.00
  • Wheelie bin (240L) $11.00
  • Loose material (per m3) $46.00
  • Compacted and heavy material (per m3) $74.50


The Council subsidises the recycling of eWaste because it contains heavy metals and other toxic materials we want to keep out of our environment.

Refuse transfer station charges for eWaste are:

  • TV’s / computer CRT screens $10
  • TV’s Flat Screen $10
  • Monitors LCD $5
  • PC’s  Desktop/laptop/server $5 each
  • Uninterruptible power supplies (UPS) $5
  • Laptop batteries $5
  • Network equipment $5.


Greenwaste is accepted at some refuse transfer stations at a cost of $22 per cubic metre. Please refer to our Rubbish and recycling stations page to see which facilities accept green waste.

Note: branch diameter cannot exceed 75mm. We cannot accept flax, toi toi, bamboo, pampas grass, phoenix palm or cabbage tree.


Tyres are accepted for recycling for a fee, depending on the size (see below). Whole tyres cannot be accepted as general rubbish because they are unsuitable for landfill.

Charges at refuse transfer stations are per tyre:

  • Motorcycle tyres $3.50
  • Passenger car tyres $5
  • Light truck and 4x4 tyres $8
  • Truck tyres $16
  • Tractor and super single $23
  • Earth mover tyres are not accepted.

What is accepted here?

  • Bagged rubbish
  • Bulk rubbish
  • Recycling
  • Batteries
  • Hazardous waste, tyres and oil
  • Green waste
  • Scrap metal, whiteware
  • Car bodies



Sandhills Road, Ahipara 0481  View Map

Google Map