Community boards

There are three community boards - Te HikuKaikohe-Hokianga, and Bay of Islands-Whangaroa - whose 19 members are elected from the four wards, which are divided into 13 subdivisions.

The Local Government Act 2002 states the role of a community board is to:

  • represent, and act as an advocate for, the interests of its community
  • consider and report on all matters referred to it by the territorial authority, or any matter of interest or concern to the community board
  • maintain an overview of services provided by the territorial authority within the community
  • prepare an annual submission to the territorial authority for expenditure within the community
  • communicate with community organisations and special interest groups within the community
  • undertake any other responsibilities that are delegated to it by the territorial authority.


Find your ward or community board subdivision